top of page

Driving News

Governor Ron DeSantis Signs New Law

Florida law requires you to Move Over a lane — when you can safely do so — for stopped law enforcement, emergency, sanitation, and utility service vehicles, tow trucks or wreckers, and maintenance or construction vehicles with displayed warning lights without advanced signs or channelizing devices.

  • If you can’t move over — or when on a two-lane road — slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.

  • Slow down to 5 mph when the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less.

When you fail to Move Over, you put yourself and others at risk; you could crash into a vehicle or worker.

Violating the Move Over law will result in a fine, fees, and points on your driving record.  For more information, see section 316.126, Florida Statutes.


Traffic Accident Statistics

FL Summertime Driving

  • Last year, during the months of June and July, there were 107,048 crashes in Florida with 499 deaths and 2,385 serious bodily injuries.

  • During those two months, law enforcement issued 3,165 citations for unlawful speed, while 2,349 crashes resulted from excessive speed.

  • Motorists ages 18-33 had the highest number of crashes.

  • The 4th of July holiday is a dangerous time to travel. Over the past five years, on average for the three-day period of July 3-5, there have been 4,924 crashes, resulting in 1,794 injuries and 28 deaths.

Nationwide Stats

  • Year End 2022 - it was estimated that 42,795 People died in motor vehicle accidents.

  • There is an estimated over 2 million car accidents a year.

bottom of page